No products in the cart.

Torn Light Records
Chicago, IL 60647

Lee Morgan – Sonic Boom

Out of stock


Sonic Boom is an album by jazz trumpeter Lee Morgan, recorded on April 14 and 28, 1967 but not released on the Blue Note label until 1979. The 2003 CD reissue added seven tracks recorded on September 12 & October 10, 1969 which were first released on the original double LP edition of The Procrastinator. Therefore, the CD edition includes performances by Morgan with two line-ups: the first one with tenor saxophonist David “Fathead” Newman, pianist Cedar Walton, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Billy Higgins, whilst the second features trombonist Julian Priester, tenor saxophonist George Coleman, pianist Harold Mabern, bassist Walter Booker, and drummer Mickey Roker. The Sonic Boom session is notable for the rare contribution of David “Fathead” Newman,[1] who made only two Blue Note appearances during his career, the other being with Lonnie Smith.


Record Label

Categories ,
Stock Level Out of stock
SKU 2758176